Yin Yoga class

yin yoga

Yin Yoga is a fantastic way to bring flexibility and suppleness to the body, while deeply relaxing the mind and regenerating the spirit. With its roots in Ancient Chinese Taoist practices, Yin Yoga poses tend to be simple and in the range of most bodies. The poses are suitable to do every day, at any time, and are a great additional to a more Yang Yoga practice such as Ashtanga, Vinyasa or Bikram, and for people who do a lot of sport, cycling or jogging. It is equally effective for more sedentary folk looking bring balance back to their bodies.

Yin Yoga is not about effort and activation of the muscles towards the bones, increasing strength.
It is rather about ‘modest stretches, patiently endured'( Paul Grilley ) – allowing the deep ‘Yin’ tissues to relax and stretch, the body’s relaxation response to kick in, and the bones to move apart- essentially decompressing them. Yin Yoga works the deep fascia (connective tissues), softening the dense build up of this gel like tissue and making it more fluid- greatly reducing stiffness and pain.

This is the Power of Yin Yoga, and what keeps it safe and non aggressive, all the while whilst releasing stagnant energy and habitual muscle patterns built up from daily life, work and sporting activities.

With a regular practice, the body rebuilds in a new and more elastic way, the joints stay young and supple. It very effectively reduces lower back and hip pain in many people.

I absolutely love it, makes me feel deeply connected to the world and grounded in life- and hence after 25 years of a commitment to strong & dynamic yoga forms such as Ashtanga Vinyasa, I find it a perfect addition to my life in yoga.

My next Yin Flow Yoga class starts next week on Thursday March 25th @ Hummingbird Eco Retreat in Red Hill, on the Mornington Peninsula – at 9.30 am.

2 thoughts on “Yin Yoga class

  1. Lovely that you’ve discovered a practice that feels so right! As a long-time ashtangi, I feel the need regularly to mix it up a bit, although the yin practice is not one that I come to very often. I enjoyed Grilley’s book : )

    Like

    • I was so hard core into Ashtanga for so many years ( nearly 2 decades) before I discovered Yin through necessity! I come to it on average twice a week now with the rest being Ashtanga or occasionally Matthew Sweeney’s Chandra sequence- depending on how much teaching I am doing, though doing a stint of ‘strictly Yin only’ last winter for 6 weeks whilst trying to preserve and build energy (on finding myself anaemic) was a wonderful, deep experience of discovery. My sentiments is, its all good this Yoga stuff ( oh except for Bikram… don’t get me started on that, NOT my thing )

      Like

Leave a Reply

